Learn how to delete a Yahoo email account in this post. The guidelines apply to Yahoo Mail’s web browser client.
You have the option to close your entire Yahoo Mail account, block people from texting you, cancel access to your email address, and delete all of your emails.
Open the Yahoo Delete User page and enter your username. Click Next.
If you don’t see an option to cancel your account and think you might have a BT Yahoo Mail account instead, see below.
You can recover your forgotten Yahoo Email password if you’re not sure what it is.
Enter your password. If you have an Account Key set up, Yahoo will send a message to your mobile phone to authenticate you.
Read the text on the page titled “Before continuing, please consider the following information.” It details what you will lose when you delete your Yahoo Mail account. Press Continue to delete my account.
Enter your email address once more into the field provided.
Select Yes, and terminate this account.
You’ll know it worked if you see a message that reads “Your account has been deactivated and scheduled for deletion.”
Press Got it to return to Yahoo’s homepage.
Yahoo may occasionally take up to 180 days to completely delete everything, but this is largely dependent on the country from which you joined. A Yahoo Finance Premium account’s associated data may be retained for three calendar years.
What Does It Mean to Delete a Yahoo Mail Account?
When you delete a Yahoo Mail account, all of your My Yahoo preferences, your Flickr account and photographs, and other data saved in Yahoo’s services are likewise lost, along with your access to your account and your emails.
Anyone attempting to send an email to the address will immediately receive a delivery failure warning when you close your Yahoo Mail account. Make sure to inform your friends and contacts that you are about to close your Yahoo Mail account in order to prevent confusion and worry. You should do this both from the email address you intend to use going forward (so they can easily reply to reach you) and from your Yahoo Mail address (to ensure the message is received).
If you pay for any Yahoo subscription services, be sure to cancel them first to prevent unforeseen charges. If you have a Flickr Pro subscription, the same is valid.